Office of the Independent Police Review Director

Complaint About the Police

Please note that the information on this form will be sent to the police chief or the OPP Commissioner, in care of their professional standards unit, or the police services board.

If you have questions about filling out this form or about the complaints process, visit our website at www.oiprd.on.ca or call us at: 1-877-411-4773 or 416-246-7071.

If you need accommodation under the AODA please call the number above or email OIPRD Accommodation

General Information
Your Details

The OIPRD does not accept anonymous complaints

e.g. Mr/Mrs/Ms
Given name
Family name
Date of birth*
e.g. name@website.ca
e.g. 655 Bay Street
e.g. Suite 502
e.g. Toronto
Select from the drop-down menu
e.g. M7A 2T4
e.g. 416-246-7071
e.g. 416-555-6666
Police Details
Select from the drop-down menu

If your complaint is about a specific officer(s), please give us any details you might have about the police officer(s)

Officer #1
Your Complaint Details

Where did the incident(s) that led to your complaint happen? If you do not know the address or street names please include landmarks etc.

When did the incident(s) happen? If there is more than one incident include each date.
If the incidents happened over a period of time, please indicate this in the drop-down menu and enter the date range when prompted.

What is your complaint about?

Describe in detail what specifically caused you to make a complaint. Consider the following:

  • What did the officer(s) do, say or did not do that has caused you to make this complaint?
  • Based on your complaint, what do you think the officer(s) should have done or said?
  • Describe any injury or damage as a result of what the officer(s) did or didn’t do.
  • If you are not the directly affected person, outline how you were affected (e.g. loss, damage, distress, and/or inconvenience).
  • Identify any evidence of the incident(s) you have (e.g. photo, audio, video, medical records).
  • If this happened to someone else and you are a witness to the incident, please include the name and contact information of the person this happened to (if known).

Complaints may be screened out if they are made more than six months after the incident. If the incident you are complaining about happened more than six months ago, please indicate if you are under the age of 16, if you are a person with a disability, if there is a criminal case in relation to this incident and/or if there is any other reason for your delay in making the complaint.

Additional Information

Please indicate if you need to be accommodated in the event of an interview
For more information about accommodation under the AODA please email OIPRD Accommodation or call 1-877-411-4773 or 416-246-7071

Declaration

I certify that the information provided is true. I understand the information on this form will be provided to the police chief or the OPP Commissioner in care of their professional standards unit or the police services board, and that this complaint may be investigated by the professionals standards unit of the service I am complaining about, with oversight by the OIPRD.

Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy

The personal information that you have provided on this complaint form is collected by the OIPRD under the Police Services Act. The information will be used to investigate your complaint. As an agency of the government, the OIPRD must adhere to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). If you have any questions about privacy protection, please contact the Freedom of Information and Privacy Office at the Ministry of the Attorney General at 416-326-4300.

Personal Information Collection

Under the authority of the Anti-Racism Act, 2017 (ARA), the Office of the Independent Police Review Director (OIPRD) is authorized to collect personal information from members of the public who make a complaint to the OIPRD. Under the Ontario Regulation 267/18, the OIPRD is authorized to collect race-based data on: 1) Indigenous identity, 2) ethnic origin, 3) race, and 4) religion. This information will be used to satisfy the requirements of the ARA and corresponding regulations. The sole purpose of the collection of this personal information is for eliminating systemic racism and advancing racial equity.

The OIPRD will de-identify personal information collected under the ARA, and may use the de-identified information in support of the OIPRD’s powers under the Police Services Act, 1990 including sections 57 and 92. This de-identified information may also be used to meet the OIPRD’s mandate, for program development and to improve service delivery.

Answering these questions is completely voluntary. No program, service, or benefit will be withheld if you do not provide or refuse to provide the personal information requested. Your decision will not affect any service provided or decision made by the OIPRD. Personal information collected under the ARA will not be shared with police services or police services boards or any other entity, person or party, except as permitted or required under section 7(14) of the ARA.

You may also access and correct your personal information or withdraw your consent by contacting our office. As an agency of the government, the OIPRD adheres to the requirements of the ARA and the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 1990 (FIPPA).

For more information about this initiative please contact the OIPRD Inquiries and Intake Assistant, at oiprdcomplaints@ontario.ca or to 655 Bay Street, 10th floor, Toronto, Ontario M7A 2T4. Telephone 1-877-411-4773.


Do you identify as First Nations, Métis, and/or Inuit? If yes, select all that apply.


Ethnic origin refers to a person's ethnic or cultural origins. Ethnic groups have a common identity, heritage, ancestry, or historical past, often with identifiable cultural, linguistic, and/or religious characteristics.
(For example, Canadian, Chinese, East Indian, English, Italian, Filipino, Scottish, Irish, Anishinaabe, Ojibway, Mi'kmaq, Cree, Haudenosaunee, Métis, Inuit, Portuguese, German, Polish, Dutch, French, Jamaican, Pakistani, Iranian, Sri Lankan, Korean, Ukrainian, Lebanese, Guyanese, Somali, Colombian, Jewish, etc.)

What is your ethnic or cultural origin(s)?

In our society, people are often described by their race or racial background. For example, some people are considered ‘White,’ while others are considered ‘Black’ or ‘East Asian,’ or a combination such as ‘White’ and ‘South Asian’.

Which race category best describes you? Select all that apply.
Examples/descriptions
African, Afro-Caribbean descent / African-Canadian
Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese descent
First Nations, Inuit, or Métis descent
Latin American or Hispanic descent
Arab, Persian, or West Asian descent, e.g., Afghani, Turk, Kurd
Indian Subcontinent descent, e.g., East Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi, Sri Lankan, Indo-Caribbean, etc.
Filipino, Vietnamese, Cambodian, Thai, Indonesian, other Southeast Asian descent
European descent

What is your religion and/or spiritual affiliation? Select all that apply.

Bureau du Directeur Independant de l'Examen de la Police

Plainte Contre La Police

Vous devez présenter un formulaire dûment signé au BDIEP pour que votre plainte soit traitée. Veuillez signer la déclaration à la section 6 du formulaire.

Les renseignements contenus dans le présent formulaire seront envoyés au chef de police ou au commissaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario (à l’attention de l’unité des normes professionnelles) ou à la commission des services policiers.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du formulaire ou du processus de traitement des plaintes, visitez notre site Web à l’adresse www.oiprd.on.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 877 411-4773 ou au 416 246-7071.

Si vous avez besoin de mesures d’adaptation en vertu de la LAPHO, appelez au numéro ci-dessus ou envoyez un courriel à l’adresse OIPRD.Accommodation@ontario.ca

Renseignements Généraux
Renseignements Personnels

Le BDIEP n'accepte pas les plaintes anonymes

p.ex., M
p.ex., William
p.ex., Tremblay
Date de naissance*
p.ex., name@website.ca
p.ex., 655 Bay Street
p.ex., Suite 502
p.ex., Toronto
Sélectionnez votre province
p.ex., M7A 2T4
p.ex., 416-246-7071
p.ex., 416-555-6666
Renseignments Sur le Service de Police
Sélectionnez une option dans le menu déroulant

Contre qui portez-vous plainte [l’agent ou les agents visés]?

Officer #1
Renseignements Sur la Plainte

l’incident s’est-il produit? Si vous ne connaissez pas l’adresse ou le nom des rues, inscrivez des points de repère.

Quand l’incident s’est-il produit? Si plusieurs incidents se sont produits, indiquez les dates.
Si les incidents se sont produits sur une période de temps , s'il vous plaît l'indiquer dans le menu déroulant et entrez la plage de dates lorsque vous êtes invité.

Quel est l'objet de votre plainte?

Décrivez en détail ce qui s’est réellement passé pour que vous décidiez de porter plainte. Tenez compte de ce qui suit:

  • Quels actes l’agent a-t-il posé, quelles paroles a-t-il prononcé ou qu’a-t-il omis de faire?
  • Selon vous, quels actes l’agent aurait-il dû poser ou quelles paroles aurait-il dû prononcer?
  • Décrivez les blessures ou les dommages causés par les actes que l’agent a posé ou ce qu’il a omis de faire.
  • Si vous n’êtes pas la personne directement touchée, expliquez comment l’incident vous a touché (p. ex., perte, dommages, détresse ou inconvénients).
  • Mentionnez toute preuve de l’incident que vous détenez (p. ex., photos, enregistrements audio ou vidéo, dossiers médicaux).
  • Si vous avez été témoin de l’incident, inscrivez le nom et les coordonnées de la personne directement touchée (si connus).

Les plaintes peuvent être rejetées si elles sont déposées plus de six mois après les faits. Si l’incident sur lequel porte votre plainte s’est produit il y a plus de six mois, veuillez indiquer si vous êtes âgé de moins de 16 ans, si vous avez un handicap, si une affaire criminelle a été portée devant les tribunaux relativement à l’incident ou s’il y a une raison pour laquelle vous n’avez pas porté plainte avant.

Mesures D'Adaption

S'il vous plaît indiquer si vous avez besoin d'être logés dans le cas d' une entrevue
Pour en savoir plus sur les mesures d’adaptation en vertu de la LAPHO, envoyez un courriel à l’adresse OIPRD Accommodation ou appelez au 1 877 411-4773 ou au 416 246 7071.

Déclaration

J’atteste que les renseignements fournis dans le présent formulaire sont exacts. Je comprends que ces renseignements seront transmis au chef de police ou au commissaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario (à l’attention de l’unité des normes professionnelles) ou à la commission des services policiers et que ma plainte peut faire l’objet d’une enquête menée par l’unité des normes professionnelles du service contre lequel je porte plainte, sous la surveillance du BDIEP.

L'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée

Les informations personnelles que vous fournissez par l'entremise de ce formulaire sont recueillies par le BDIEP en vertu de la Loi sur les services policiers. Les informations seront utilisées dans le cadre de l’enquête de votre plainte. En tant qu’organisme gouvernemental, le BDIEP doit respecter les dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée (LAIPVP). Veuillez contacter le Bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection de la vie privée du ministère du Procureur général au 416-326-4300.

Avis de renseignements personnels

Sous le régime de la Loi de 2017 contre le racisme (ci-après, la Loi), le Bureau du directeur indépendant de l’examen de la police (BDIEP) est autorisé à recueillir les renseignements personnels des membres du public qui lui soumettent une plainte. Selon le Règlement de l’Ontario 267/18, il peut amasser des données sur la race, à savoir : 1) l’identité autochtone, 2) l’origine ethnique, 3) la race et 4) la religion. Ces renseignements servent à satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi et des règlements y afférant, et sont recueillis dans l’unique but d’éliminer le racisme systémique et de faire progresser l’équité raciale.

Le BDIEP doit anonymiser les renseignements personnels recueillis en vertu de la Loi, après quoi il est autorisé à s’en servir dans le cadre des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par la Loi de 1990 sur les services policiers, plus précisément les articles 57 et 92. Il peut aussi se servir de ces renseignements anonymisés pour accomplir son mandat, créer des programmes et améliorer la prestation des services.

Vous êtes entièrement libre de répondre aux questions ou non. Aucun programme, service ou avantage ne vous sera refusé parce que vous avez refusé ou omis de fournir les renseignements personnels demandés. Votre décision n’aura aucune incidence sur la prestation des services ou la décision du BDIEP. Les renseignements personnels recueillis conformément à la Loi ne seront divulgués ni aux services de police, ni aux commissions des services policiers, ni à quelque entité, personne ou partie que ce soit, sauf si le paragraphe 7 (14) de la Loi l’autorise ou le prescrit.

Vous pouvez également consulter et modifier vos renseignements personnels ou retirer votre consentement en communiquant avec nous. En tant qu’organisme gouvernemental, le BDIEP se conforme aux exigences de la Loi de 2017 contre le racisme et de la Loi de 1990 sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée.

Pour en savoir plus sur la présente initiative, communiquez avec l’adjoint, renseignements et établissement des dossiers du BDIEP par courriel au oiprdcomplaints@ontario.ca, par téléphone au 1 877 411-4773 ou par la poste au 655, rue Bay, 10e étage, Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2T4


Vous identifiez-vous comme membre d’une communauté inuite, métisse ou de Première Nation? Si oui, cochez toutes les réponses qui s’appliquent à votre cas.


L’origine ethnique fait référence aux origines ethniques ou culturelles d’une personne. Les groupes ethniques ont une identité, un héritage, des ancêtres et un passé historique communs généralement identifiables grâce à des caractéristiques culturelles, linguistiques, et/ou religieuses.
(Par exemple canadienne, chinoise, indienne orientale, anglaise, italienne, philippine, écossaise, irlandaise, anishinaabe, ojibwé, micmaque, cri, haudenosaunee, métisse, inuite, portugaise, allemande, polonaise, néerlandaise, française, jamaïcaine, pakistanaise, iranienne, sri-lankaise, coréenne, ukrainienne, libanaise, guyanienne, somalienne, colombienne, juive, etc.)

Quelle est ou quelles sont vos origines ethniques ou culturelles?

Dans notre société, les gens sont souvent décrits par leur race ou leur origine raciale. Par exemple, certaines personnes sont considérées comme « blanches », « noires » ou « asiatique de l’Est», ou un mélange tel que « blanche » et « asiatique de l’Est »

Quelle catégorie raciale vous décrit le mieux? Choisissez toutes les réponses pertinentes.
Descriptions
Africains, Afro-Caribéens / Canadiens d’origine africaine
Chinois, Coréens, Japonais, Asiatiques d’origine taïwanaise
Premières Nations, Inuit ou Métis
Latino-Américains, Hispaniques
Arabes, Iraniens ou Asiatiques de l’Ouest, p. ex. : Afghans, Égyptiens, Iraniens, Turcs, Kurdes, etc.
Asiatiques du Sud, p. ex. : Indiens d’Asie, Pakistanais, Bangladais, Sri Lankais, Indo-Caribéens, etc.
Philippins, Vietnamiens, Cambodgiens, Thaïlandais, Indonésiens et autres origines de l’Asie du Sud-Est
Européens

Quelle est votre religion et/ou quelle est votre filiation spirituelle? Choisissez toutes les réponses pertinentes.